21 Fall Writing Prompts to Tackle This October 🎃

Happy October 2nd, all!

Shelby Sullivan
3 min readOct 2, 2023
Photo by Alisa Anton on Unsplash

As the leaves begin to turn and the air grows crisp, I think it’s the perfect time to wear sweaters, stay inside, and do some autumn-inspired writing. I’m hoping to write several short stories this October to flex my muscles for NaNoWriMo in November. 🎃🍂

It’s time for me to dust off those cobwebs on the fiction part of my brain!

To do this, I’m looking again to Reedsy. I’ve talked about them before. They have decent prompts and even host writing contests if you’re interested!

Screenshot of the first 5 writing prompts for fall on Reedsy.

Currently, Reedsy Prompts has 21 fall writing prompts to help inspire those dusty fiction lobes of mine. They’re not all great prompts, so I may look to Tumblr too for some pumpkin-spiced, thrilling, cozy, romantic, or even horror-filled ideas to get those juices flowing.

At the top of every story I write, I’ll add the prompt for reference and just go for it. The goal is not perfection but rather challenging myself to write whatever comes to mind. To just get inspired, and GO!

--

--

Shelby Sullivan

Hey, I'm Shelby! I'm a professional writer, editor, blogger, and cover designer. Learn to make book covers and contact me at linktr.ee/sulliwrites !